ITALY
Court judgment: Acquittal of Mina Welby and Marco Cappato in the Davide Trentini case

 

On Monday, 27 July 2020, the court in Massa (Tuscany) acquitted Mina Welby* and Marco Cappato** of the Italian organisation Associazione Luca Coscioni of the accusation of inciting and assisting suicide. The court thus specified the term mezzi di sostegno vitale (means of life support) from a judgment by the Italian Constitutional Court and confirmed the right to provide suicide assistance to seriously suffering individuals under certain conditions also in cases where a person does not require artificial respiration but is dependent on medication and other supportive measures in order to keep alive.

In the course of the now concluded criminal proceedings in the case of Fabiano Antoniani (known under his artist name “DJ Fabo”) in Milan, in which Marco Cappato had also been accused of inciting and assisting suicide, the Italian Constitutional Court had ruled on September 24, 2019 that under certain conditions suicide assistance cannot be punishable***, because otherwise constitutionally guaranteed freedoms would be disregarded; the judgment referred to cases where the person concerned is dependent on means of life support, such as artificial respiration.

Cappato was subsequently acquitted. He had brought Fabiano Antoniani to DIGNITAS in Switzerland at the end of February 2017 for an accompanied suicide, with great attention from the Italian press and the public. Antoniani was blind and paraplegic after an accident; he also depended on artificial respiration.

The judgment of the Massa court in the Davide Trentini case now specifies the scope of action for providing suicide assistance. The judges interpreted the concept of “means of life support” in the sense that this includes medication and other means necessary to keep alive.

Davide Trentini had been suffering from multiple sclerosis for over thirty years but did not require artificial respiration. In April 2017, Mina Welby had brought him to Switzerland for an assisted suicide; Marco Cappato had previously procured the funds for the trip. Afterwards the two had reported themselves to the police in Massa.

Despite this welcome court judgment, suicide assistance cannot yet be provided in Italy with impunity in practice, because the legal foundations and institutional structures*** necessary to comply with the preliminary examinations laid down by the Constitutional Court do not yet exist. To date, the Italian Parliament has not yet passed a law that regulates the conditions and modalities under which suicide assistance in Italy is not punishable. Parliament let several deadlines pass, and a citizens' initiative submitted seven years ago to draft a law on assisted suicide has still not been debated in parliament.

The Associazione Luca Coscioni announced that, in the absence of a legal provision, it is prepared to take further precedents to the courts for clarification; in particular, it is discriminatory that, based on existing case law, individuals who suffer severely but are not dependent on any means of life support (e.g. cancer patients who have stopped treatment) are not allowed to be provided with suicide assistance with impunity.

***

* Mina Welby is a well-known exponent of Associazione Luca Coscioni and widow of Piergiorgio Welby, a pioneer for the self-determined end of life in Italy who died in 2006

** Marco Cappato is a politician and secretary of the Associazione Luca Coscioni

*** According to the judgment of the Constitutional Court of 24 September 2019 in connection with the Fabiano case, assisted suicide is no longer a punishable crime if the person concerned can only be kept alive by life-sustaining measures. In addition, there must be serious and irreversible suffering; the wish to die must be firm and well considered and the person must be able to express his or her will clearly; the prerequisites and modalities of implementation must be examined by an institution of the National Health Service (SSN), after obtaining the opinion of the territorially competent Ethics Committee.

 

 

Newsletter 2020-3-2-e

 
 

Latest News

 

Well Worth Seeing


Article

Assisted Dying is not the easy way out

>> more


Talk

"Cracking the taboo on suicide is the best means to prevent suicide attempts and deaths by suicide"

>> more


Poll

Research Report for End of Life Choices Jersey


Bristol Museum & Art Gallery

death: the human experience

Bristol Museum & Art Gallery: death - the human experience

>> more

death: is it your right to choose?

Bristol Museum & Art Gallery: death - is it your right to choose

>> more


Video

Documentaries and more

>> llink



E-mail:
dignitas@dignitas.ch

Address:
DIGNITAS
P.O. Box 17
8127 Forch
Switzerland

Telephone national
043 366 10 70
Telephone international
+41 43 366 10 70
(Mon to Fri, 9:00 - 12:00 / 13:30 - 16:30 hours)

Fax national
043 366 10 79
Fax international
+41 43 366 10 79

ITALIE
Acquittement de Mina Welby et Marco Cappato dans l'affaire Davide Trentini


Le 27 juillet 2020, le tribunal de Massa (Toscane) a acquitté Mina Welby* et Marco Cappato**, de l'organisation italienne Associazione Luca Coscioni, de l'accusation d'incitation et d’aide au suicide. Ce faisant, la Cour clarifie le terme de « trattamenti di sostegno vitale » (traitements de maintien en vie), provenant d’un arrêt de la Cour constitutionnelle italienne. Elle confirme aussi le droit d’aider impunément à se suicider une personne souffrant gravement, et ce dans certaines conditions, notamment aussi dans les cas où la personne n'a pas besoin de respiration artificielle mais de médicaments et d'autres mesures de soutien pour survivre.

La procédure pénale menée à Milan dans l'affaire Fabiano Antoniani (connu comme « DJ Fabo ») est désormais terminée. Marco Cappato y était accusé d'incitation et d’assistance au suicide. La Cour constitutionnelle italienne a statué le 24 septembre 2019 que, dans certaines conditions, l’assistance au suicide ne peut pas être punie***, car une telle condamnation porterait atteinte aux libertés garanties par la Constitution. L'arrêt se référait au cas où la personne a besoin de mesures de maintien en vie ; pour Fabiano Antoniani, il s'agissait de la respiration artificielle.

Cappato a été acquitté. Il avait conduit Fabiano Antoniani chez DIGNITAS en Suisse, fin février 2017, pour un suicide assisté, suscitant une importante vague de sympathie dans la presse et le public italien. Aveugle et paraplégique après un accident, Antoniani était aussi sous respiration artificielle.

Le jugement du tribunal de Massa dans l'affaire Davide Trentini est important, car il précise le cadre dans lequel l’assistance au suicide peut rester impunie. Les juges ont interprété l'expression « trattamenti di sostegno vitale » dans le sens où ces traitements peuvent également inclure les traitements médicamenteux et d'autres mesures de soutien nécessaires à la survie.

Davide Trentini souffrait de sclérose en plaques depuis plus de trente ans, mais n'avait pas besoin de respiration artificielle. En avril 2017, Mina Welby l'avait conduit en Suisse pour un suicide assisté ; Marco Cappato avait auparavant récolté les fonds pour le voyage. Ensuite, tous deux s’étaient présentés à la police de Massa.

Malgré ce verdict réjouissant, l'assistance au suicide ne peut pas encore être offerte en Italie en toute impunité, car il manque encore les bases juridiques et les structures institutionnelles*** nécessaires. À ce jour, le Parlement italien n'a pas encore adopté de loi qui réglemente les conditions et les modalités de l'impunité de l’assistance au suicide en Italie. Le Parlement a déjà laissé s'écouler plusieurs délais, et une initiative citoyenne présentée il y a sept ans pour faire élaborer une loi sur le suicide assisté n'a toujours pas été débattue au Parlement.

L'Associazione Luca Coscioni a annoncé qu'en l'absence de dispositions légales, elle est prête à saisir les tribunaux pour obtenir des éclaircissements sur d'autres précédents. Il est notamment discriminatoire que, selon la jurisprudence antérieure, il soit toujours punissable de fournir une assistance au suicide à des personnes qui souffrent gravement mais qui n’ont besoin d'aucune mesure de maintien en vie, par exemple, un patient atteint d'un cancer incurable et qui n'est plus sous traitement.

***

* Mina Welby est une représentante bien connue de l'Associazione Luca Coscioni et la veuve de Piergiorgio Welby, pionnier de l’autodétermination en fin de vie en Italie, décédé en 2006.

** Marco Cappato est un homme politique et secrétaire de l'Associazione Luca Coscioni

*** Selon l'arrêt de la Cour constitutionnelle du 24 septembre 2019 dans l'affaire Fabiano Antoniani, l’assistance au suicide n'est plus punissable si la personne concernée ne peut être maintenue en vie que par des moyens artificiels. Il doit exister une pathologie grave et irréversible ; le vœu de mourir doit être formé librement et mûrement réfléchi ; la personne doit pouvoir exprimer clairement sa volonté ; les conditions et les modalités de réalisation du suicide assisté doivent être examinées par une institution du Service national de santé (SSN), après avis du comité d'éthique territorialement compétent.

 

 

Newsletter 2020-3-2-f

 
 

Actualités

 

À Voir


France: DIGNITAS remet en question l'interdiction du pentobarbital sodique devant le Conseil d’État

>> plus


Le fonctionnement
de DIGNITAS

Une brochure complète sur le travail et la philosophie de DIGNITAS

>> plus


Video

Documentaires

>> plus


 

E-mail:
dignitas@dignitas.ch

Adresse:
DIGNITAS
Case postale 17
8127 Forch
Suisse

Téléphone national
043 366 10 70
Téléphone international
+41 43 366 10 70
(Lun. à Ven., 9:00 - 12:00 / 13:30 - 16:30 heures)

Télécopieur national
043 366 10 79
Télécopieur international
+41 43 366 10 79