ITALY
Court judgment: Acquittal of Mina Welby and Marco Cappato in the Davide Trentini case

 

On Monday, 27 July 2020, the court in Massa (Tuscany) acquitted Mina Welby* and Marco Cappato** of the Italian organisation Associazione Luca Coscioni of the accusation of inciting and assisting suicide. The court thus specified the term mezzi di sostegno vitale (means of life support) from a judgment by the Italian Constitutional Court and confirmed the right to provide suicide assistance to seriously suffering individuals under certain conditions also in cases where a person does not require artificial respiration but is dependent on medication and other supportive measures in order to keep alive.

In the course of the now concluded criminal proceedings in the case of Fabiano Antoniani (known under his artist name “DJ Fabo”) in Milan, in which Marco Cappato had also been accused of inciting and assisting suicide, the Italian Constitutional Court had ruled on September 24, 2019 that under certain conditions suicide assistance cannot be punishable***, because otherwise constitutionally guaranteed freedoms would be disregarded; the judgment referred to cases where the person concerned is dependent on means of life support, such as artificial respiration.

Cappato was subsequently acquitted. He had brought Fabiano Antoniani to DIGNITAS in Switzerland at the end of February 2017 for an accompanied suicide, with great attention from the Italian press and the public. Antoniani was blind and paraplegic after an accident; he also depended on artificial respiration.

The judgment of the Massa court in the Davide Trentini case now specifies the scope of action for providing suicide assistance. The judges interpreted the concept of “means of life support” in the sense that this includes medication and other means necessary to keep alive.

Davide Trentini had been suffering from multiple sclerosis for over thirty years but did not require artificial respiration. In April 2017, Mina Welby had brought him to Switzerland for an assisted suicide; Marco Cappato had previously procured the funds for the trip. Afterwards the two had reported themselves to the police in Massa.

Despite this welcome court judgment, suicide assistance cannot yet be provided in Italy with impunity in practice, because the legal foundations and institutional structures*** necessary to comply with the preliminary examinations laid down by the Constitutional Court do not yet exist. To date, the Italian Parliament has not yet passed a law that regulates the conditions and modalities under which suicide assistance in Italy is not punishable. Parliament let several deadlines pass, and a citizens' initiative submitted seven years ago to draft a law on assisted suicide has still not been debated in parliament.

The Associazione Luca Coscioni announced that, in the absence of a legal provision, it is prepared to take further precedents to the courts for clarification; in particular, it is discriminatory that, based on existing case law, individuals who suffer severely but are not dependent on any means of life support (e.g. cancer patients who have stopped treatment) are not allowed to be provided with suicide assistance with impunity.

***

* Mina Welby is a well-known exponent of Associazione Luca Coscioni and widow of Piergiorgio Welby, a pioneer for the self-determined end of life in Italy who died in 2006

** Marco Cappato is a politician and secretary of the Associazione Luca Coscioni

*** According to the judgment of the Constitutional Court of 24 September 2019 in connection with the Fabiano case, assisted suicide is no longer a punishable crime if the person concerned can only be kept alive by life-sustaining measures. In addition, there must be serious and irreversible suffering; the wish to die must be firm and well considered and the person must be able to express his or her will clearly; the prerequisites and modalities of implementation must be examined by an institution of the National Health Service (SSN), after obtaining the opinion of the territorially competent Ethics Committee.

 

 

Newsletter 2020-3-2-e

 
 

Latest News

 

Well Worth Seeing


Article

Assisted Dying is not the easy way out

>> more


Talk

"Cracking the taboo on suicide is the best means to prevent suicide attempts and deaths by suicide"

>> more


Poll

Research Report for End of Life Choices Jersey


Bristol Museum & Art Gallery

death: the human experience

Bristol Museum & Art Gallery: death - the human experience

>> more

death: is it your right to choose?

Bristol Museum & Art Gallery: death - is it your right to choose

>> more


Video

Documentaries and more

>> llink



E-mail:
dignitas@dignitas.ch

Address:
DIGNITAS
P.O. Box 17
8127 Forch
Switzerland

Telephone national
043 366 10 70
Telephone international
+41 43 366 10 70
(Mon to Fri, 9:00 - 12:00 / 13:30 - 16:30 hours)

Fax national
043 366 10 79
Fax international
+41 43 366 10 79

ITALIEN
Gerichtsurteil: Freispruch für Mina Welby und Marco Cappato im Fall Davide Trentini


Am Montag, 27. Juli 2020 sprach das Gericht in Massa (Toskana) Mina Welby* und Marco Cappato** von der italienischen Organisation Associazione Luca Coscioni vom Vorwurf der Verleitung und Beihilfe zum Suizid frei. Damit präzisiert das Gericht den Begriff «mezzi di sostegno vitale» (lebenserhaltende Massnahmen) aus einem Urteil des italienischen Verfassungsgerichts und bestätigt das Recht, einer schwer leidenden Person unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch dann straffrei Suizidhilfe zu leisten, wenn die betroffene Person nicht künstlich beatmet werden muss, aber auf Medikamente und andere unterstützende Massnahmen angewiesen ist um weiterzuleben.

Im Zuge des inzwischen abgeschlossenen Strafverfahrens im Fall von Fabiano Antoniani (bekannt unter seinem Künstlernamen «DJ Fabo») in Mailand, bei dem ebenfalls Marco Cappato der Verleitung und Beihilfe zum Suizid angeklagt war, hatte das italienische Verfassungsgericht am 24. September 2019 entschieden, dass Suizidhilfe unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen nicht strafbar sein kann***, weil ansonsten verfassungsrechtlich garantierte Freiheiten missachtet werden; das Urteil bezog sich auf den Fall, dass die betroffene Person auf lebenserhaltende Massnahmen, im Fall Fabiano Antoniani war dies künstliche Beatmung, angewiesen ist.

Cappato war in der Folge freigesprochen worden. Er hatte Ende Februar 2017 unter grosser Anteilnahme der italienischen Presse und Öffentlichkeit Fabiano Antoniani für eine Freitodbegleitung in die Schweiz, zu DIGNITAS gebracht. Antoniani war nach einem Unfall blind und querschnittgelähmt; er musste zudem künstlich beatmet werden.

Das Urteil des Gerichts von Massa im Fall Davide Trentini ist wichtig, weil es den Handlungsspielraum für die straffreie Suizidhilfe präzisiert. Die Richter legten den Begriff der «lebenserhaltenden Massnahmen» in dem Sinne aus, dass dies auch für das Weiterleben notwendige medikamentöse Behandlungen und andere unterstützende Massnahmen sein können.

Davide Trentini war seit über dreissig Jahren an Multipler Sklerose erkrankt, musste jedoch nicht künstlich beatmet werden. Im April 2017 hatte ihn Mina Welby zu einer Freitodbegleitung in die Schweiz gebracht; Marco Cappato hatte im Vorfeld die finanziellen Mittel für die Reise beschafft. Danach hatten sich die beiden bei der Polizei in Massa selbst angezeigt.

Trotz dieses erfreulichen Urteils kann in Italien in der Praxis noch immer nicht straffrei Suizidhilfe geleistet werden, weil die für die Einhaltung der vom Verfassungsgericht festgelegten Vorprüfungen notwendigen gesetzlichen Grundlagen und institutionellen Strukturen*** noch nicht bestehen. Das italienische Parlament hat bis heute kein Gesetz erlassen, das die Voraussetzungen und Modalitäten für die straffreie Durchführung von Suizidhilfe in Italien regelt. Das Parlament liess bereits mehrere Fristen verstreichen; und eine vor sieben Jahren eingereichte Bürgerinitiative zur Erarbeitung eines Gesetzes für die Suizidhilfe wurde bis heute nicht im Parlament behandelt.

Die Associazione Luca Coscioni hat angekündigt, dass sie in Ermangelung einer gesetzlichen Regelung bereit ist, weitere Präzedenzfälle zur gerichtlichen Klärung zu bringen; insbesondere sei es diskriminierend, dass bei Personen, die schwer leiden, aber auf keinerlei lebenserhaltende Massnahmen zum Weiterleben angewiesen sind (beispielsweise austherapierte Krebspatienten) gemäss bisheriger Rechtsprechung nicht straffrei Suizidhilfe geleistet werden darf.

***

* Mina Welby ist eine bekannte Exponentin der Associazione Luca Coscioni und Witwe von Piergiorgio Welby, einem 2006 verstorbenen Pionier für das selbstbestimmtes Lebensende in Italien

** Marco Cappato ist Politiker und Sekretär der Associazione Luca Coscioni

*** Gemäss dem Urteil des Verfassungsgerichts vom 24. September 2019 im Zusammenhang mit dem Fall Fabiano Antoniani ist Suizidhilfe nicht mehr strafbar, wenn die betreffende Person nur mit künstlichen Mitteln am Leben erhalten werden kann. Es muss ein schweres und irreversibles Leiden vorliegen; der Sterbewunsch muss frei und wohl erwogen und die Person in der Lage sein, ihren Willen klar zu äussern; die Voraussetzungen und Modalitäten der Durchführung müssen durch eine Einrichtung des Nationalen Gesundheitsdienstes (SSN) geprüft werden, nach Stellungnahme der territorial zuständigen Ethikkommission.

 

 

 

 

Newsletter 2020-3-2

 
 

Aktuelles

 

 

Sehens-Wert


«Vom Tabu zum
Menschenrecht»

Artikel von L.A. Minelli in
«Aufklärung und Kritik»

>> mehr


«Unser Ziel? Irgendwann zu verschwinden»

Interview mit L.A. Minelli

>> mehr


Zeitschrift
Mensch + Recht

Die aktuelle Ausgabe
Nr. 161, September 2021

>> mehr


Botschaft von DIGNITAS zum Welttag der Suizidprävention 2021

>> mehr


«Die letzte Reise»

Ein Erlebnisbericht
von Lea R. Söhner

>> mehr


Video
Dokumentarfilme und
weitere Beiträge

>> mehr



E-Mail:
dignitas@dignitas.ch

Adresse:
DIGNITAS
Postfach 17
8127 Forch
Schweiz

Telefon national
043 366 10 70
Telefon international
+41 43 366 10 70
(Mo bis Fr, 9:00 - 12:00 / 13:30 - 16:30 Uhr)

Telefax national
043 366 10 79
Telefax international
+41 43 366 10 79